REGULAR BOARD MEETING September 18, 2017

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on September 18, 2017 in the board room at the high school at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Dena Johnson, Jon Karger, Michael Forsgren, Charlie Blixt, Kathy Ouren, Anne Peterson. Board members absent: None. Others present: Superintendent Randi Anderson, CJ Holl, Barb Ripley, Dr. Ed Richardson, Derrick Nelson, Brian Korf, Sheryl Anderson, Robyn Dial, Bridgette Holl, Angie Westby, Lou Hoglund.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Charlie Blixt.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the meeting agenda. The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and carried.

Jon Karger moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

Approve board minutes – August 21, 2017 regular meeting

Approve payment of the August 31 & September bills as presented Accept donations:

To Elementary Special Olympics-Cormorant Lutheran Church-\$277.50

To Viking Elementary School-VFW Post 5252-\$500

Personnel:

Hire Teresa Haarstick as high school cook as of 10-3-17

Hire Ashlee Olson as a preschool para

Accept the resignation of Maria Soto as an ELL para

Hire Ubah Muhumed as an ELL para

Hire Sheri Rundle as an ELL para

Accept the resignation of John Eidsness as JH boys basketball coach

Hire Cody Shaffer as JH boys basketball coach

Hire Kim Gottenborg as School Patrol advisor

Hire Heidi Smith as Student Lighthouse advisor

Hire Avery Neuville as a Title I Interventionist

Hire Sarah Husted as a Title I Interventionist

Hire Tammy Trosvik as a Special Ed para

Approve Dr. Ed Richardson as LEA representative for Title I and School Improvement The motion was seconded by Michael Forsgren and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to accept the resignation of Linda Grefsrud as Special Education teacher effective March 6, 2018. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the proposed levy for tax 2018-19 at the maximum amount. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Charlie Blixt moved to create a policy committee with Dena Johnson and Anne Peterson being the school board members on this committee. The motion was seconded by Michael Forsgren and carried.

Anne Peterson moved to approve the first reading of Policy 102 Equal Opportunity. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the first reading of Policy 524 Internet Use. The motion was seconded by Charlie Blixt and carried.

Anne Peterson moved to approve the first reading of Policy 714 Fund Balance. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve fundraisers for 2017-18. The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to set the 1st Wednesday of the month at 6:30 pm starting in November, 2017 as the date for a monthly work session. The motion was seconded by Michael Forsgren and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to change the January 15, 2018 regular meeting to January 8, 2018 because of Martin Luther King, Jr. Day. The motion was seconded by Kathy Ouren and carried.

Charlie Blixt moved to change the February 19, 2018 regular meeting to February 21, 2018 because of President's Day. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to have a work session on Monday, October 25, 2017 at 6:30 pm. The motion was seconded by Charlie Blixt and carried.

Charlie Blixt moved to close the meeting to discuss the Superintendent Evaluation process. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

The meeting was closed.

In closed session, Anne Peterson moved to approve the Superintendent Evaluation. The motion was seconded by Michael Forsgren and carried.

The meeting was adjourned.		
Charlie Blixt, Chair	Michael Forsgren, Chair	